The San Diego Law Library Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the Board of Supervisor’s appointment of San Diego attorney Kimberly D. Howatt as the Law Library’s newest Attorney Trustee.

Kimberly D. Howatt is a partner at Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani, LLP. Howatt’s two-decade career has focused on areas of law that are critical to businesses like intellectual property rights, contracts, corporate disputes, and bankruptcy issues. She is part of the firm’s Commerical Litigation practice group and has previously served as its Chair. Howatt has argued cases in state, federal, arbitration, and international forums. She is admitted to practice in the states of California and Nevada, and several district courts as well as the Ninth District Court of Appeals.

Howatt attended the University of San Diego (J.D., 1998), the Institute on International, Foreign, and Comparative Law at Oxford University (1996), and the University of California, Davis (B.A., 1994). She enjoys spending time with her senior rescue dogs and volunteering for the San Diego Humane Society and the ASPCA distributing pet food and supplies, participating in the vaccine clinic, and working in the animal clinic at Stand Down San Diego.

We are excited to add Kimberly D. Howatt’s great experience to the Law Library’s governing body and look forward to working with her on issues and strategies to benefit the Law Library and its mission.

The Law Library Board of Trustees has nine members: five judges elected by their peers and four attorneys appointed by the County Board of Supervisors, each for three-year overlapping terms. The trustees have complete authority over the library’s budget for services, staffing, resources, and programs. Although the Law Library receives no tax dollars, it is supported by a small portion of court litigant filing fees.

Our newest judicial trustee begins her service at the April 2022 meeting.  She will be serving along with:

Carla DiMare Esq., President
The Hon. Rachel Cano, Vice President
The Hon. Desirée Bruce-Lyle, Secretary
Lorena Slomanson Esq., Treasurer
The Hon. Maryann D’Addezio
City Attorney Mara W. Elliott
The Hon. David M. Gill
The Hon. Julia C. Kelety

We thank them all for their great service to the Law Library and to the people of our county.