The San Diego Law Library Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the Superior Court’s election of the Honorable Maryann D’Addezio as the Law Library’s newest Judicial Trustee.

Judge D’Addezio was appointed to the Superior Court of San Diego County by Governor Jerry Brown in 2016. She served as a deputy public defender at the San Diego County Public Defender’s Office from 1992 until her appointment to the bench. Judge D’Addezio will serve as trustee to the San Diego Law Library for a three-year term.

As a Law Library trustee, Judge D’Addezio will oversee a powerful and important component of San Diego County’s system of civil justice which has provided people with free legal resources since 1891. The Law Library is a one-of-a-kind service in San Diego County, and the Board of Trustees oversees the work of its executive director and staff to provide all County residents with free access to the law to achieve the justice they seek.  As a stand-alone local agency, the Board works cooperatively with the Court, bar associations, law schools, and local legal assistance agencies to help tens of thousands of self-represented litigants.

The Law Library Board of Trustees has nine members: five judges elected by their peers and four attorneys appointed by the County Board of Supervisors, each for three-year overlapping terms. The trustees have complete authority over the library’s budget for services, staffing, resources, and programs. Although the Law Library receives no tax dollars, it is supported by a small portion of court litigant filing fees.

We are excited to add Judge D’Addezio’s great experience in public service to the Law Library’s governing body and look forward to working with her on issues and strategies to benefit the Law Library and its mission. “Judge D’Addezio has a genuine commitment to ensuring the Law Library remains solvent and continues to operate,” said Executive Director John Adkins. “With her talents and energy, the people of San Diego County will be well-served.”

Our newest judicial trustee begins her service at the November 2020 meeting.  She will be serving along with:

City Attorney Mara W. Elliott, President
Carla DiMare Esq., Vice President
Jeffrey D. Cawdrey, Esq., Secretary
Lorena Slomanson Esq., Treasurer
The Hon. Julia C. Kelety
The Hon. David M. Gill
The Hon. Desirée Bruce-Lyle
The Hon. Rachel Cano

We thank them all for their great service to the Law Library and to the people of our county.