Landlord Tenant Law Changes for 2013
The California Legislature made important changes to California landlord tenant laws for 2013.
Landlords are now prohibited from requiring tenants to have animals declawed or devocalized or from denying occupancy to tenants who refuse to have their animals declawed or devocalized.
Landlords must accept at least one form of payment that is not cash or ETF (electronic funds transfer) for rent or a security deposit.
The landlord and tenant can agree to have the landlord deposit electronically any remaining amount of the security deposit.
If personal property is abandoned (left behind on leased premises after the tenancy has been terminated), then a landlord may now keep it for his or her own use or dispose of it how they choose, if the landlord reasonably believes the total resale value is less than $700.
If a rental housing unit property is sold in foreclosure, then a tenant or subtenant under a month-to-month or periodic tenancy must be given 90 days written notice to quit when it is sold. If the tenant has a fixed term lease, they may remain in possession until the term ends, except they may be given 90 days notice in certain circumstances.
Tenants may not be evicted because the tenant or a member of the tenant’s household was the victim of elder abuse or abuse of a dependent adult.