The San Diego Law Library Foundation is pleased to announce the return of the Bernard E. Witkin Award Ceremony to be held on October 8th as a virtual reception! The Witkin Awards are presented annually to honor members of the San Diego legal community for civic leadership and excellence in education, public service, practice and adjudication of the law. And, this year is the 25th anniversary of the Bernard E. Witkin Awards.

The namesake of the award, Bernard E. Witkin, had a nearly 70-year legal career that included an impressive range of activities that took place as the law of California was experiencing exponential growth in both size and complexity. Witkin’s impact on California’s law, and on the law of other states, was enormous. He served as Supreme Court clerk and Reporter of Decisions and was a tireless advocate for legal reform. His treatises have been cited by the California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal more than 20,000 times. And, this year’s honorees are no less impressive!

The 2020 Witkin Award Honorees are:

The San Diego Law Library Foundation is organized as a charitable trust affiliated with the San Diego Law Library. The sole mission of the Foundation is to aid the Law Library in our efforts to provide access to justice through our many resources and programs. The Foundation is recognized as a 501(c)(3) organization established for scientific and educational purposes by the IRS. We are so excited that the Law Library Foundation is able to continue the Witkin Award tradition during these difficult times, and we will update you with more information as we receive it!