New Law to Protect Bicyclists
Starting Sept. 16, 2014, new legislation will require California drivers to stay at least 3 feet away when passing bicyclists. If drivers cannot leave 3 feet of space, they must slow down and pass only when it would not endanger the cyclist’s safety. This law is intended to better protect cyclists from aggressive drivers.
Current law requires a driver to keep a safe distance when passing a bicyclist but does not specify how far that is. However, at least 22 states and the District of Columbia define a safe passing distance as a buffer of at least 3 feet. And in about a year, California will join them,