A new year brings new laws into our lives! The California legislature and Gov. Newsom enacted a total of 770 new bills. Here are a few of the new laws that will go into effect on January 1st.
Education & School Laws
AB 101: Adds a requirement for a one-semester class on ethnic studies to the high school graduation requirements. This includes charter schools.
AB 367: California public schools, including colleges, must provide free menstrual products available in the restrooms for students in grades 6-12, community colleges, and state universities beginning in the 2022-23 school year.
SB 224: California public middle and high schools that have an existing health education course must include a component on mental health. This bill intends to help teach young people the importance of mental health and how to identify when to ask for help.
Food & Beverage Laws
Prop 12, Part II: Known as “the Bacon Law” this law initially went into effect in 2018 and required certain standards for the housing of egg hens and veal. This second part of the bill requires egg hens to be cage-free and breeding pigs to have 24 square feet of space.
S.B. 389: To-Go Cocktail Law: Laws passed in the early days of the pandemic that allowed restaurants to sell alcoholic beverages to-go are extended through December 31, 2026. BUT, New Year’s Eve 2021 is the last day you can have your cocktail delivered!
AB 286: This law clarifies that tips for food delivery services must go to the individual worker NOT the delivery service, and if food is ordered online for pickup, the tip will go to the restaurant, not the app used to place the order. Additionally, it states that it is against the law for customers to be charged a higher price than what is listed on the website at the time of order.
AB 1276: Let’s call this “the Ketchup bill.” This bill prohibits food service businesses from providing single-use condiments and utensils to consumers until they request them.
Labor & Employment Laws
SB 3 (2016): Per the timetable established in 2016 by SB 3, the minimum wage for businesses with 26 or more employees will be $15 an hour while businesses with 25 employees or less will be $14 an hour.
AB 397: Requires the Employment Development Department to provide additional notifications to individuals before disqualifying them from unemployment insurance benefits.
AB 701: This bill requires warehouse distribution centers and warehouses to disclose quotas and pace-of-work standards to employees and prohibits employers from penalizing employees for taking breaks required by health and safety standards for meals and rest.
Police Reform Laws
AB-89: The minimum age of law enforcement officers has been raised from the age of 18 to the age of 21. Additionally, law enforcement officers will be required to have a Bachelor’s Degree and a policing degree program will be established by the Chancellor of California Community Colleges and implemented by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training.
AB-26: This law requires officers to immediately report potential incidents of excessive force and to immediately intervene if they witness excessive force. Officers that do not intervene when witnessing excessive force will be disciplined. Additionally, police department policies must be revised to ensure there is no retaliation against reporting officers.
SB-2: Also known as the Police Decertification Law, SB 2 will prevent officers accused of wrongdoing from bouncing from one law enforcement agency to another, and create a process and advisory board for officer accountability within California’s Police Officer Standards and Training (POST).
A comprehensive list of the new laws for 2022 can be found here.