In observance of Presidents’ Day, all locations of the Law Library will close on Monday, February 17.

Congress established Presidents’ Day, officially known as Washington’s Birthday, in 1879. Federal employees observed the holiday on February 22nd, George Washington’s actual birth date. In 1971, Congress changed the holiday to the third Monday of the month when the Uniform Monday Holiday Act went into effect. The Act’s purpose was to create additional three day weekends for workers.

Nowadays, Presidents’ Day commonly celebrates all U.S. presidents past and present.