Writers and the Law

In partnership with Warwick’s Bookstore, the “Writers and the Law” series explores complex legal issues through engaging, thought-provoking programming. Featuring a diverse array of fiction and nonfiction authors, these events bring members of the San Diego community and leading writers together to explore how the law impacts our everyday life. From the intrigue of legal fiction to the compelling, eye-opening and sometimes even controversial points of view of non-fiction, the “Writers and the Law” series offers a fresh perspective on contemporary life and culture.

Check back often for news of upcoming events.

Writers & the Law 2013

Brian Fagan

Brian Fagan

June 12 Brian Fagan – “The Attacking Ocean”

Brian Fagan, Emeritus Professor of Anthropology at UCSB, will discuss and sign his book, The Attacking Ocean. In his latest book, Fagan returns to the topic that made him a New York Times best seller, explaining the role of climate change in history – this time focused on rising… LEARN MORE

Walter Walker

Walter Walker

June 25 Walter Walker – “Crime of Privilege”

What will one powerful family do to protect their own? Join us as we present Walter Walker to discuss and sign his latest novel, Crime of Privilege. In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay and Nelson DeMille, this stunning thriller explores power, corruption and the law in America, and the dangerous ways they… LEARN MORE

Karin Slaughter

Karin Slaughter

July 10 Karin Slaughter – “Unseen”

Join New york Times bestselling Karin Slaughter as she discusses and signs her latest thriller, Unseen. Charged with her signature blend of suspensful storytelling, vivid characters and breathtaking twists, this novel sends Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent Will Trent to Macon, Georgia, where he goes undercover with a drug and prostitution ring. Taking matters into his own hands, he decides to … LEARN MORE