The Witkin Awards are presented annually to honor members of the San Diego legal community for civic leadership and excellence in teaching, practice, enactment, or adjudication of the law. The Witkin Award Ceremony is the primary fundraiser of the San Diego Law Library Foundation. You are invited to join us Thursday, October 20, from 5 pm to 8 pm at our Downtown location to honor this year’s recipients. Click here for reservations and information on sponsorship opportunities.

Our honorees have made Access to Justice part of their life’s work.  Our 2016 Witkin Award honorees are:

  • Excellence in the Practice of Law: Charles A. Bird, Esq.
  • Excellence in Civic Leadership and Philanthropy: Justin P. Brooks, Esq.
  • Excellence in Legal Education: Professor Robert F. Muth
  • Excellence in the Adjudication of the Law: The Honorable Joan P. Weber

This week we focus on our award winners for  Excellence in Legal Education, Professor Robert F. Muth, Adjunct Professor of Law, USD School of Law; and for Excellence in the Practice of Law, Charles A. Bird, Esq. of Dentons US LLP.

Professor Robert F. Muth  is an adjunct professor of law at the University of San Diego School of Law and teaches in the areas of veterans law and legal ethics. Muth also serves as the Academic Director of the award winning legal clinics program at USD where he is responsible for academic oversight and strategic planning for USD’s ten client-services legal clinics.  Additionally, Muth is the managing attorney of the USD Veterans Legal Clinic.

Attorney Charles A. Bird is a partner of Dentons US LLP.   Among his professional activities, Charlie is a past president of the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers, the California Academy of Appellate Lawyers, and the ACLU of San Diego and Imperial Counties (10 years). He served on the board of trustees that conceived the California Innocence Project and brought honoree Justin Brooks to San Diego to develop it.

Click here to read about our honorees for Excellence in Civic Leadership and Philanthropy, Justin P. Brooks; and Excellence in the Adjudication of the Law, the Honorable Joan P. Weber.