California Workforce Entitled to Paid Sick Leave
A new California law, Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014, requires employers to provide paid sick leave for employees who work 30 days or more a year. Employees can earn a minimum of 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. The employer may also limit an employee’s use of paid sick leave to 24 hours or 3 days in each year of employment. Both full-time and part-time employees benefit from this act, except the following:
- Airline flight crews and attendants, who fall under federal labor laws;
- Employees who are subject to collective bargaining agreements; and
- In-home health care providers.
The new law takes effect on July 1, 2015 and will impact about 40% of the California workforce. Most employees are happy with this change, but a few small business owners complain the new law is a burden. Read the full article here.